Vera Gwendoline Griffin and Reginald James at Station Rd Shop

Hemyock Castle

Hemyock Castle

Hemyock Castle is a privately owned scheduled Ancient Monument & residential site, normally only opened to the public during special open days on Bank Holiday Mondays (2 to 5 pm) between Easter and September. On our open days, visitors can view the substantial remains of Hemyock Castle’s towers, walls, moat, grounds; and visit its display areas.

The remains of a moated, rare late 14th century castle surround a much older manor house. During the 17th century English Civil War, the castle was garrisoned for Parliament. The Royalists attacked twice, eventually besieging and capturing Hemyock Castle. Afterwards, the castle was slighted (destroyed). Subsequently the site evolved to become a farm, and later a private home. Former outbuildings have also been converted into homes.

Hemyock Castle is set in the Culm Valley amongst the now tranquil Blackdown Hills in Devon England, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty just a few miles from the M5 Motorway and Taunton. Although situated in the heart of Hemyock village, the castle site is screened by trees and walls, so surprisingly little can be seen from the road. The whole site is enclosed by substantial walls, fences and gates.

Rosemary Lane Outing 1934

opAyres23 RLschsm

Clayhidon School in 1928

1928

The class of 1928

Clayhidon School 1920

1919

1920

The class of 1920

Original Hemyock Pump

clayhidon021sm1

The original Hemyock Pump back in 1890

Clayhidon School in 1939

1939

Clayhidon School in 1919

1919

Clayhidon Old Church

oldchurch